Thirst: A Story of Redemption, Compassion, and a Mission to Bring Clean Water to the World

Thirst

Author: Scott Harrison

Publisher: Penguin Random House USA

Usually, reading an autobiography or a book on personal journey will not be as interesting as reading a novel. Thirst draws the reader in right from the start.Though I have read few autobiographies; I always keep Tamil lyricist-writer Kannadasan’s Vanavasam and Manavasam as interesting autobiographies. After Kannadasan’s books, I found this book to be interesting autobiography.

The book starts with Scott’s mother’s illness, father’s way to solve the problem and care for family, his confused and rebellious nature, crazy partying, realization to do something different, his journey towards founding a leading charity with zero experience, finding his life-partner, and ends with the unbelievable stories of individual donors and beneficiaries.

When Harrison explains his Christian faith throughout his story; I remembered my conversation with Sh. Subhash Palekar, chief proponent of cow-based farming. Palekar told that we should get more people who will be ready to work for nation or for the betterment of people. I, naively, asked how we can find them easily. He immediately replied, “Go to any spiritual centers. Those who are looking for spiritual enlightenment are those who will be ready to work for others. Because, spiritual enlightenment and work (volunteer) for others are same.”

To start a business or non-profit, you need a cause that you believe and a good mentor to guide you. Harrison finds the cause and his mentor in Mercy Ships.

Till I read this book, I was not aware that safe water is a big issue in some part of the world. I have always taken safe water as granted for life. I was not aware how lucky and blessed I am. It was painful to know the sufferings of people due to lack of water.

This book is actually filled with quite a few business lessons, leadership lessons and overall life lessons that most of us probably need to hear.

Some quotes from the book:

Do something different with your life.

I wasn’t sure if anyone was listening, but it felt good to pray again.

Antidote to a life of emptiness is to become “as simple as a little child” – A.W.Tozer

I would find an opportunity to be useful.

God is not asking you to do everything. Take care of the two or three things you can, and leave the other eight to him.

Our work need to culturally sensitive and locally led.

Focus on one problem. Intensely.

3 pillars of non profit: Vision, Proof, Branding

There’s an old rabbinic saying that I love: “Do not be afraid of work that has no end.” That’s how I’ve come to see my life. If your work is in the service of others — if you’re pursuing compassion and generosity, and your calling is to end the suffering of people less fortunate than you — then your work will simply never end. The idea of that used to scare me. But not anymore. Now it inspires me.

Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑